Keynote Speakers


Mr John Carroll, Editor in Chief, Endpoints

Mr Carroll is a biotech analyst with 38 years of prize-winning experience in journalism. Aside from his daily industry coverage for FierceBiotech, where he was editor 2003-2016, Carroll has been a regular speaker at biotech events around the globe. He’s been quoted by The New York TimesThe New Yorker, Financial Times, and more.

He’s also keynoted at biotech gatherings around the world and addressed student audiences at MIT and Harvard. Carroll has covered genomics, biotechnology, healthcare and other business topics for American Banker, Managed Care and many other publications.

He has contributed stories from Central America and Ireland to the Dallas Morning News and Time and has written for  the Houston Press. Carroll spent six years as editor and publisher of the Dallas Business Journal, was publisher of Texas Business, and early in his career was part of a Pulitzer Prize–winning team of reporters and editors at the Kansas City Star & Times.


Dr Charmaine Gittleson, Chief Medical Officer, CSL Limited

Dr Gittleson is an internationally experienced pharmaceutical physician having worked in the biopharmaceutical industry for over 20 years. She joined CSL in 2005, initially based in Australia where she established a clinical safety and then a clinical development function.
From 2010 to 2017 she was based in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA where she was responsible for CSL's clinical development strategy and ultimately all global clinical research. She has overseen the clinical development of both seasonal and pandemic influenza vaccines as well a number of biologics within the rare disease and orphan "space", resulting in global registrations. Additionally she has experience establishing new R&D groups in Japan and China.
Since returning to Melbourne, Australia in 2017 she has assumed the global role of Chief Medical Officer for CSL Limited. In this capacity she has responsibility for early development and oversees the benefit-risk profile of CSL products across their life cycle.

Professor Doug Hilton, Institute Director, Division Head of Molecular Medicine, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute

As the Millis Orator, Professor Hilton will be discussing the three pillars of WEHI's activities - science, translation and entrepreneurship.
Hilton is a biologist interested in understanding blood cell production and function, and how cells communicate with each other. As the director of the Institute since 2009, his priorities have included strengthening the governance framework, overseeing the $185M renovation and extension of research facilities, expanding the Institute’s translational research capacities, maximising collaborative opportunities in research, education and clinical care and ensuring Australian medical research is administered and funded in smart and strategic ways.

Dr Charlie Day

As Chief Executive Officer of Innovation and Science Australia (ISA), Dr Charlie Day supports the ISA Board’s implementation of long-term initiatives to boost Australia’s innovation, science and research system. In January 2018, ISA released Australia 2030: Prosperity through Innovation which is a strategic plan based on a vision that by 2030 Australia can and should be counted within the top tier of innovative nations. Delivering a plenary presentation at AusBiotech 2018, Dr Day will provide an update on the Government’s response to and implementation of the recommendations outlined in the 2030 Plan to achieve this vision.


Dr Denis Patrick

Dr. Patrick is currently Vise President and Head of Oncology External Science & Innovation (ES&I), the R&D Lead for Pfizer Ventures (RDI), and Innovative Medicines Initiative at Pfizer. The goal of ES&I is to search and evaluate external opportunities that are focused on areas that complement Pfizer Oncology Research interests including: targeted immuno-oncology, resistance mechanisms, epigenetics, cell cycle and precision medicine strategies.   Recent executed agreements include acquisitions of Medivation and BIND Therapeutics, research licenses with CytomX, Stemcentrx, iTeos, BioAtla, Western Oncolytics and Arvinas. Recent equity investments include: Jnana, Adapsyn, Aquinnah, Arrakis, AnTolRx, NextCure, BioAtla and Metabomed. 

Denis is a Board member of Metabomed and an Observer on the Board of Directors for NextCure, Encycle and AnTolRx.  Denis received his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Pennsylvania and previously worked for several large Pharma oncology organizations, including Merck, DuPont Pharma, GSK and Pfizer.  Prior to coming to Pfizer, Dr. Patrick contributed significantly to several oncology drug discovery efforts that lead to the approval of three marketed therapeutic agents including nelarabine, trametinib, and dabrafenib. 


Dr Janette Dixon, Chief Executive Officer/Principal, BioComm Pacific, New Zealand
Dr Andrew Kelly, Executive Director, BioPacific Partners, New Zealand
Siddharth Shah, Director, External Innovations, Asia Pacific, Zoetis, India
Dr Birgit Reitmaier, Head of Access to Innovation APAC, Merck, Singapore  
Dr Tim Farries, Director of Regulatory Affairs for Cell & Gene Therapy Products, ERA Consulting, United Kingdom 
Ben Thorner, Senior Vice President, Merck Research Laboratories, United States of America
Dr Stephen Hitchcock, Head of Research, Takeda Pharmaceutical, United States of America
Prof Guojie Zhang, Associate Director, China National GeneBank, BGI 
Dr So Ra Park, Director/Professor, Strategic Center for Regenerative Medicine/Inha University, Korea
Dr Fusako Nishigaki, Vice Chair, Steering Committee, Forum for Innovative Regenerative Medicine, Japan 
Dr Shir Mnuchin, VP, Partnerships Connecting Industry, Academia & Government, Bioforum Ltd, Israel
Dr Michael May, President & Chief Executive Officer, CCRM, Canada
Roland Gordon-Beresford, Chief RA/IP Officer, Novadip Biosciences, Belgium
Denis Patrick, VP of External Innovation & Science (oncology), Pfizer, United States of America
Dr Michael Rosenzweig, Executive Director, Tumor Immunotherapy, Merck, United States of America
Sue Charles, Managing Partner, Instinctif Partners, United Kingdom
Diana Sternfeld, Partner, Fieldfisher, United Kingdom
Dr John Flygare, Senior Principal Scientist, Merck, United State of America
Eunho Shin, Head of Solution Consultant in APAC, Medidata, Korea
James Ieong, Head of IC – Chairman, Pagoda Investment, China 
Dr Sam Bakri, Global Entrepreneurs Programme, United Kingdom 
Dr John Irvine, Chief Scientist for Data Analytics, Draper Laboratory, United States of America
Divya Chadha Manek, Head of Business Development, NIHR Clinical Research Network, United Kingdom
Dr Rowan Chapman, Head, Johnson & Johnson Innovation, United States of America
Dr Elizabeth Kowaluk, Senior Director, Search & Evaluation, AbbVie, United States of America
Dr Anne Fourie, Disease Area Stronghold Leader, Psoriasis, Janssen Research & Development